

CHARGE

The FASEB Protection of Human Subjects Committee is authorized to determine whether a FASEB member society program involving surveys to evaluate educational programs and other social science endeavors are exempt from Institutional Review Board review (under HHS regulations at 45 CFR 46.101(b)).

Qualification for exemption applies if the following conditions are met:

- The survey instrument is reviewed by the Principal Investigator and appropriate organizational officer of the Member Society for exempt status; and
- The survey is reviewed by the FASEB Committee for Protection of Human Subjects for exempt status.

OBJECTIVES

- 1. Provide FASEB member societies a mechanism to conduct IRB review and determine whether projects meet exemption criteria according to existing regulations.
- 2. Review member society educational programs and projects.
- 3. Facilitate Board member engagement in FASEB activities.

MEMBERSHIP

Voting members

- One to two FASEB Board members
- One to two FASEB Science Policy Committee members
- One to two Early Career Representatives from either the FASEB Board or Science Policy Committee
- Chair to be selected from Committee Membership

Non-voting members (Two)

- FASEB Office of Public Affairs staff liaison
- FASEB Executive Director/CEO

MEMBERSHIP TERMS

<u>Members</u> serve three (3) year terms beginning on January 1 of the appointed year and ending on December 31. <u>Chairs</u> serve one, one (1) year term.

Voting members must meet membership eligibility when appointed, but service on the FASEB Board or Science Policy Committee may expire during their Protection of Human Subjects Committee term.

MEMBERSHIP SELECTION

<u>Members</u>: Beginning in 2022, FASEB Board and Science Policy Committee members that conduct or are familiar with human subject research are highly encouraged to volunteer to serve as Members of the Protection of Human Subjects Committee. This Committee presents new opportunities for Board and Science Policy Committee members, including Early Career Representatives, to develop expertise and engage in a broader range of FASEB activities.

Due to the nature of the decisions made on the Protection of Human Subjects Committee, it is critical that voting members represent different FASEB member societies.



<u>Chair</u>: One member of the Committee will be designated as Chair, a position that will be rotated on a yearly basis and chosen by Committee Members.

For 2021, the following individuals have been selected to serve on the Protection of Human Subjects Committee:

- 1. Marsha Lucas (SDB) (or Rebecca Osthus, APS)
- 2. Tara Burke (AMP)
- 3. Catherine Fry (ASPET)
- 4. Bill Coleman (ASIP)
- 5. Ida Chow (SDB)

Biographic, demographic, and scientific diversity in governance is an overarching goal of the Federation, and the Board seeks to appoint members to Federation committees and subcommittees who represent this diversity.