FASEB Committees

FASEB's Standing and Ordinary committees do much of the work necessary to fulfill the Federation's strategic goals. Standing committees are defined explicitly by the FASEB bylaws. Ordinary committees are established by the FASEB Board of Directors. 

Standing Committees

Executive Committee
Consists of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Vice President for Science Policy, Vice President-Elect for Science Policy, Immediate Past Vice President for Science Policy, Treasurer, Treasurer-Elect, and two members elected from the FASEB Board of Directors. The Executive Committee may exercise the management authority of the Board of Directors in between meetings of the Board. The Executive Committee reports to the Board.

Executive Officers Advisory Committee
Addresses items of mutual interest to the Federation and the member societies. Reports of the meetings are presented at Federation Board meetings.

Finance Committee
Is responsible for (in consultation with the Executive Director) recommending an annual budget to the Federation Board; safeguarding the invested funds of the Federation; recommending an investment policy for the Federation (subject to approval by the Federation Board); performing all negotiations with duly authorized investment counselors; and in all other ways, to assist the Treasurer.

Membership Committee
Reviews applications for FASEB membership and reports the conclusions of their deliberations to the Board; makes recommendations to the Board regarding membership criteria, makes recommendations of candidate organizations that should be approached regarding possible FASEB membership, addresses issues of membership retention and membership admission, and addresses any other topics related to FASEB membership.

Publications and Communications Committee
Reviews the fiscal and other performances of FASEB publications including, but not limited to, The FASEB Journal.

Science Policy Committee
Advises the President and the FASEB Board on public policy issues of importance to the Federation and its members, and develops position statements reflective of the interest of biomedical scientists.

Ordinary Committees

Excellence in Science Award Committee
The FASEB Excellence in Science Award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement by women in biological science. Recipients are women whose career achievements have contributed significantly to further our understanding of a particular discipline by excellence in research. The committee reviews nominee submissions and makes a recommendation to the Board of Directors.

Protection of Human Subjects Committee
Authorized to determine if a FASEB member society program involving surveys that evaluate educational programs and other social science endeavors are exempt from IRB review (under HHS 10 regulations at 45 CFR 46.101(b)). The committee shall ensure the appropriate communication of such a policy to all investigators.

Science Research Conferences Advisory Committee
Charged with defining the scientific quality and integrity of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology’s (FASEB) Science Research Conferences (SRCs). This committee is responsible for recommending policies and standards for the conferences to provide opportunities for small groups of researchers in specialized biological and biomedical fields to share information, develop collaboration, and mentor students.