Excellence in Science (EiS) Award Committee

Committee Purpose

The FASEB Excellence in Science Award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement by women in biological science.  Recipients are women whose career achievements have contributed significantly to further our understanding of a particular discipline by excellence in research. Additional information about the award and a list of prior awardees can be found on the FASEB website.

The Excellence in Science Award Committee reviews nominee submissions and makes a recommendation of the recipient to the Board of Directors.  The committee advises the Board on the administration of the annual Excellence in Science Award program.

EIS Award Committee Charter

Volunteer Position Description/Responsibilities

Chair, EiS Award Committee
Member, EiS Award Committee

2023/2024 Excellence in Science Award Committee Roster

Chair: Joanna Spencer-Segal, MD, PhD (ES)
Tina Tootle, PhD (AAA)
Dorina Avram, PhD (AAI)
Sherry Thornton, PhD (ABRF)
Peter H. Wiernik, MD (AFMR)
Sreemathi Logan, PhD (AGE)
Kedra M. Wallace, PhD (APS)
Stavroula Kousteni, PhD (ASBMR)
Linda M. McManus, PhD (ASIP)
Christine E. Canman, PhD (ASPET)
Roberto Ivan Mota-Alvidrez, MD (HCS)
Alexandra Joyner, PhD
Natasha E. Zachara PhD (SfG)
Orlando Laitano, PhD (SHOCK)
Michelle Visser, PhD (SLB)
Cheng Wang, PhD (SSR)

Staff Liaison:
Sally Schwettmann, Director, Governance and Leadership Development