Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion (DEAI) Committee

Committee Charge

The Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion (DEAI) Committee is charged with developing and implementing strategies to guide the Federation’s efforts to foster diverse, equitable, accessible, and inclusive research, training, and professional environments. The DEAI Committee reports to the FASEB Board of Directors.

Committee Objectives

The DEAI Committee will:

  1. Provide input on the development and implementation of FASEB’s DEAI initiatives.
  2. Oversee implementation of FASEB’s DEAI strategic plan, including providing annual updates to the Board on progress towards goals and new opportunities or challenges.
  3. Identify opportunities for FASEB to collaborate with FASEB member societies and external entities/organizations on DEAI initiatives.
  4. Support funding opportunities for FASEB to increase external support for DEAI Programs.
  5. Serve as ambassadors for FASEB’s DEAI initiatives.

DEAI Committee Charter

Volunteer Position Descriptions/Responsibilities

Vice President DEAI
Vice President-Elect DEAI
DEAI Committee Member

DEAI Subcommittees

Family Care Subcommittee (CARES)
Reverse Mentoring Subcommittee (LEAD)

2024/2025 DEAI Committee Roster


Chair: Lauren M. Walker, PhD (AAI)
Vice Chair: Rachel M. Brewster (SDB)
Theo Smith, PhD (AAA)
Javier E. Irazoqui, PhD (AAI)
Tania Mesa, PhD (ABRF)
Zanthia Wiley, MD (AFMR)
Holly Brown-Borg, PhD (AGE)
Layla Al-Nakkash, PhD (APS)
Ronald Y. Kwon, PhD (ASBMR)
Cecelia C. Yates, PhD (ASIP)
Sai Suda Koka, PhD (ASPET)
Maigen Bethea, PhD (ES)
Alana M. O'Reilly, PhD (GSA)
Tracy Fischer, PhD (HCS)
Parastoo Asadi, PhD (SfG)
Brahma Mulugu, PhD (SfRBM)
Elissa Liverani, PhD (SHOCK)
Suzanne Bohlson, PhD (SLB)
Myeongjin Yi, PhD (SSR)


Beth A. Garvy, PhD, President
Mary-Ann Bjornsti, PhD, Immediate Past-President
Frank Krause, CAE, Executive Director / CEO
Jennifer Zeitzer, Deputy Director, Director of Public Affairs
Yvette R. Seger, PhD, Director of Science Policy

Staff Liaison

Elvie Banda, DEAI Program Manager